What is an NDIS Audit Cycle?

An NDIS audit cycle is the repeated process in which NDIS-approved auditors review your organisation’s compliance with the Commissioner’s Practice Standards. These are carried out at regular intervals.

The number and frequency of your audits vary according to how new your organisation is as an NDIS-registered provider and whether you qualify for a certification or verification type audit.

Here’s a brief rundown of the audit cycles that you should be aware of as an NDIS-registered provider.

What are the audits an NDIS-registered provider need to undertake?

In general, every NDIS-registered provider must undergo Stage 1 and Stage 2 audits every three years to have their Certificate of Registration renewed.

Newly registered NDIS providers identified for certification type audits are required to undertake surveillance audits at year one and year two. Individual sole traders and partnerships delivering lower risk services will need to undergo a verification type audit each year.

The 3-yearly audit cycle

If you wish to remain registered under the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), you’ll need to renew your Certificate of Registration every three years before your registration period ends. Renewal may commence six months prior to the expiry date and no later than three months prior.

The audits for this re-registration cycle are a thorough process made up of Stage 1 and Stage 2 audits. The Stage 1 audit is an off-site, desk-top audit that determines your readiness for certification and is followed by a Stage 2 audit, usually within three months.

Body corporates and large organisations requiring a certification type audit will undergo the Stage 2 audit on-site. In contrast, NDIS providers undertaking a verification type audit will usually have their Stage 2 audit conducted off-site.

Both Stage 1 and Stage 2 audits are performed by an NDIS approved quality auditor who will examine the evidence you provide against the relevant modules of the NDIS Practice Standards.

Read our blog on Stage 1 and Stage 2 Audits to learn more about the process.

The yearly audit cycle

Surveillance audits are carried out every 12 months unless otherwise directed by the NDIS Commission. An “out of cycle” audit on specific components or all applicable outcomes of the NDIS Practice Standards may be requested at short notice or unannounced.

During a surveillance audit, you may be assessed against 50% of the applicable NDIS Practice Standards. The auditor will choose the indicators to be assessed based on the outcome of your previous audit, any complaints that may have arisen or significant changes within your organisation.

To ensure you have a successful audit, you’ll need to ensure that you are able to meet or exceed the quality standards of the NDIS Commission. While having sound policies and procedures are necessary, ensure they are also being implemented and evidenced in your daily practice. Learn how you can do this in our step-by-step guide to implementation.

Preparing for audits can be a daunting task, but not if you have the best support you can get from an NDIS administrative firm such as PROVIDERplus. They’ll assist you with the planning and preparation of all required documentation for each audit cycle, leaving you to better focus on client support and service delivery.

Google Rating
Based on 384 reviews